AME Excellence Award

The AME Excellence Award primarily recognizes manufacturing and health care organizations that have demonstrated excellence in manufacturing and business operations. The application requirement for 2019 is for a single plant or operating unit, including “maintenance, repair and overhaul” operations or a hospital in either the public or private sector. The AME Excellence Award criteria details a lean systems model for enterprise excellence. The primary focus of the award is to acknowledge continuous improvement, best practices, creativity and innovation. This award supports AME’s mission of inspiring commitment to enterprise excellence by identifying “Pearls of Excellence” or best practices to share with other AME members.

"Final feedback about the site visit…gives us the opportunity to have a professional and different point of view about our overall improvement journey. The auditors were constructive and focused on the people, and how people interact and live in our WCM [world class manufacturing] environment." 
— 2018 AME Excellence Award Recipient


2020 Updates and Details Coming Soon.


Download the award criteria 


Application Requirements

To apply for the AME Excellence award, begin by completing the Intent to Apply and Plant Profile. Send the completed information to

Your entire application consists of the:

En espanol:

AME Lean Sensei

We suggest applicants gather their team and review the AME Lean Sensei questions. Keep in mind the Award Criteria as you reach consensus scores on the 60 Lean Sensei questions. Once you have gained consensus, complete the self-assessment using the Excel version of the AME Lean Sensei (Sensei).

Download the Excel version of the Sensei

Achievement Report

You support the scores in the Sensei with a written Achievement Report. Use descriptions and pictures to provide evidence to support your self-assessment score. Please use the Achievement Report template.

Download the Achievement Report template

Guidelines to Apply

Download the 2019 Guidelines to apply 

AME Excellence Awards 2019: Eligibility, Fees and Timeline

Learn more

2019 AME Excellence Award Recipients

Carlsbad, CA

HM Electronics, Inc. (HME) is a diverse group of companies that designs, manufactures, sells and services specialized communications, audio and software solutions for a variety of niche markets.... Read More

Suzzara, Italy

IVECO is part of CNH Industrial (CNHi) designs and manufactures a wide range of light, medium and heavy commercial vehicles for road and off-road use. Its Suzzara, Italy facility is comprised of... Read More

Piedras Negras/Coahuila Mexico

Littelfuse is the world leader in circuit protection and PCP (Passenger Car Products) products are used in a broad range of markets including consumer automotive. Last year PCP delivered 3.4... Read More

Saskatoon, SK, Canada

New Holland Saskatoon is part of CNH Industrial (CNHi) and produces agricultural machinery mainly under the Case and New Holland brands. Its 678,000 square foot Saskatoon plant is home to 456... Read More

About the Awards

Selection Process

The AME Excellence Award may recognize multiple North American recipients who demonstrate excellence against the award guidelines and evaluation criteria. Any applicant that submits the required materials will be considered for an award. A company’s achievement report will be evaluated by the AME Award Evaluation Team. For companies that score high enough in this achievement report review, a site visit will be completed. A site visit will generally last 1.5 to 2 days. Recipients of the Excellence Award will be selected based on the combined results of the achievement report review and site visit feedback.

If you have any questions or need additional information, please contact our vice president of awards and certification, Michael Bremer at or 630-789-8262. 

Nominate a company for the AME Excellence Award!

Often, companies that are achieving enterprise excellence are led by humble leaders, and humble leaders often don't seek award recognition on their own. To nominate a company, simply email with the name and contact information of the company as well as your name and contact information.

2018 AME Excellence Award Recipients

2017 AME Excellence Award Recipients

2016 AME Excellence Award Recipients

2015 AME Excellence Award Recipients

2014 AME Excellence Award Recipients

2013 AME Excellence Award Recipients

2012 AME Excellence Award Recipients

2011 AME Excellence Award Recipients

2010 AME Excellence Award Recipients